Competitions

The Light That Gets Lost: A Writing Competition

Enter our latest writing competition to win a signed copy of The Light that Gets Lost and £100 of books!

 

ANNOUNCING an amazing new competition with Bloomsbury. Write an original story inspired by The Light that Gets Lost and you could win a signed copy PLUS £100 of books from Bloomsbury’s Children’s and YA list!

 

The winner will be chosen by author Natasha Carthew, whose latest novel The Light that Gets Lost tells a powerful story of revenge and friendship. Keep an eye on our blog for updates.

 

About the book

A small boy hiding in a cupboard witnesses something no child should ever see. He tries not to look but he still hears it. And when he comes out, there's no mistaking. His mum and dad have been killed. And though he's only small, he swears that he'll get revenge one day. Years later, Trey goes to a strange camp that is meant to save troubled teenagers. It's packed with  crazies, god-botherers, devoted felons and broken kids. Trey's been in and out of trouble ever since the day the bad thing happened, but he's not here for saving: this is where he'll find the man who did it. Revenge and healing, salvation and hell are a boiling, dangerous mix, and Trey finds himself drawn to a girl, a dream and the offer of friendship in the dark … 

Dark and powerful storytelling, perfect for fans of Patrick Ness and Meg Rosoff.

 

Read an Extract of The Light that Gets Lost here

 

About Natasha Carthew

Natasha is a country writer from Cornwall, England where she lives with her girlfriend of nineteen years. She has had three books of poetry published. Her first novel Winter Damage was nominated for the 2014 Carnegie Medal and shortlisted for several national awards including the prestigious Branford Boase Award 2014. She occasionally runs 'Wild Writing' workshops but spends most of her time writing outside in all weathers.

 

The competition

 

Read the extract of The Light that Gets Lost and

1. Write a story about revenge.  

    OR

2. Write a story where your character sets out on a mission all on their own.

    OR

3. Write a backstory/history for the character Trey.

 

This competition is open to UK/Australia entrants only.

 

The prizes

The winner will receive a signed copy of The Light That Gets Lost and £100 of books from Bloomsbury’s Children’s and YA list. 3 runners up will also win copies of the new book!

 

Details

No co-author entries

Open to UK and Australia residents only

No word limit

Competition closes 23:00 GMT 7th December 2015

 

Visit Natasha's website 

Follow Natasha on Twitter

Follow Bloomsbury’s YA community Hooked on Books on Twitter

Browse more books from Bloomsbury

Loading ...